No matter what, Yangon is the best! – Part 1

Posted: 10/01/2012 in Uncategorized

[This is a backdated post]

If there is one thing good about living abroad for few years, it could be appreciating one’s hometown more and more. Okay, technically speaking, Yangon is not my hometown. But I believe my soul is there. It is where I studied, it is where I played, it is where I grew up and it is just everything about me.

Though you may have learnt that Yangon is no longer the capital of Myanmar, let me say that it is true only in news and official documents. Believe me, nobody in Myanmar would recognise Nay Pyi Taw as the true capital of Myanmar by their hearts. Whether they like or not, majority of locals would mention Yangon is still the largest city of Myanmar.

And please please do not tell me that Yangon is the city of “Bamar” ethnic, not of other 7 major ethnics. I am not a pure Bamar, (if you are a Myanmar), only few percent of you would be pure Bamar while other mixed mixed mixed blood people have been living in Yangon for decades. (If you are not a Myanmar,) Ask any of your friends living in Yangon if he/she is 100% Bamar and you would get what I mean.

So, I went back to Myanmar. Only about two weeks which was an unfortunate things. Because 14 days will never be enough to chill there.

The only thing which irritated me was that some people in downtown thought we (me and my b.f) were foreigners. 😦 No, we did nothing weird, just wore jeans and canvas shoes (slippers for some days), were walking on the street and just roaming around. The only thing I could think as the reason they assumed so could be the DSLR that we used to take every single thing there. But it should not be the case, should it? 😦

The best thing I could done there was visiting my secondary school! Although I just refer it as secondary school for easy understanding, it is actually a high school to where all primary/middle/high school students can go. I spent 9 years there studying, playing and dreaming. All my teachers do remember who I am although it had been at least 6 years we hadn’t see each other. Some of them were retired and others were still energetic to teach the young children.

Botataung 3 or No. (3) Basic Education High School, Botataung. My school!

Botataung 3 or No. (3) Basic Education High School, Botataung. My school!

The school was old and torn but it still gave me the feeling of warmth. By seeing all the kids running here and there, I wondered how time flied so fast. I passed by my primary school where I spent two years as well but couldn’t get into it as it was late. I tried to take a good picture of it but someone shouted “Who’s there!?” and I had to shout back like “Nothing. I’m just taking photo of my old school!”.

You can see the situation is too different from other countries and my awesome land (this is my favourite sarcastic term to describe Myanmar).  Who on earth would blame you for taking photo of your old school in any other country?? But I can understand the staffs as they have been surviving life under fear. They are just fear for something they can’t exactly describe. And for them, taking a photo at late night without anyone’s permission might be a threat, too? Sigh.

B.E.P.S (12) Mingalar Taung Nyunt

It’s not purposely blurred. As the guy was shouting inside the school, we had to get a quick one. 😦

And it was all about food and food and food. [Will continue in Part 2!]

Comments
  1. Mabaydar says:

    I am going back in 9 more days… Yahoo… but only for 13 days…. sighhh..

Leave a Reply

